Double Duty: Breastfeeding While Pregnant?

Back on October 14, 2011, I inadvertently set off a firestorm of debate related to the question of breastfeeding while pregnant.  I had read this question on the Natural Parent’s Network on Facebook: “Brooke asks: “Does anyone have any advice/insight on weaning? My 2 year old still nurses a couple times a day but I’m 7 weeks pregnant and my doctor just put the fear of God in me about the risk of miscarriage. Help! I really don’t think either of us could do cold turkey, but I need to speed up the process.”

I shared the question with the Nourishing Our Children Facebook community: “The comments on the attached post are of interest. I wonder if the traditional cultures that Price observed faced this concern with their spacing practices – about 3 years between children. I wonder if they breast fed much beyond 2 years?” — and had a 52 fairly passionate responses.  Some expressed that they breastfeed through numerous pregnancies, and even tandem breastfed more than one child at once and assured us all that everyone involved was healthy and happy.  Others raised concerns: “I do not think its very healthy for a pregnant woman to nurse. It would be a huge task to make sure you would be consuming enough nutrients for both mom, baby, and for healthy milk.”

What side of the question do you land on?

A photo of an Eskimo woman with her baby

As a result of this debate, I followed up with this post:

“Yesterday, in a discussion I initiated here on Facebook on the topic of breastfeeding while pregnant, Tiffany of The Coconut Mama expressed this concern: “I (personally) would worry about not giving my nursing child and unborn child enough nutrients, leaving them undernourished.” I found the concern to be quite valid and consulted with Sally Fallon Morell, the President of the Weston A. Price Foundation, who wrote in response “Yes, I would have the same concerns. Moms need to finish nursing before they give birth, even before they get pregnant. That means spacing your children. Sally” She followed up and wrote, “It really isn’t fair to the unborn or new child for mom to be putting so much of her nutrition into breast milk. Sally”

I looked at the research of Dr. Weston A. Price in Nutrition and Physical Degeneration to see what he discovered on the topic. There is quite a lot of content so this will be the first of several posts. He writes:

“It is significant that while these important factors are just coming to light in our modernized civilization, the evidence clearly indicates that several so-called primitive races have been conscious of the need for safeguarding motherhood from reproductive overloads which would reduce the capacity for efficient reproduction. For example, G. T. Baden |3| in his book “Among the Ibos of Nigeria” states:

“It is not only a matter of disgrace but an actual abomination, for an Ibo woman to bear children at shorter intervals than about three years. . . . The idea of a fixed minimum period between births is based on several sound principles. The belief prevails strongly that it is necessary for this interval to elapse in order to ensure the mother being able to recuperate her strength completely, and thus be in a thoroughly fit condition to bear another child. Should a second child be born within the prescribed period the theory is held that it must inevitably be weak and sickly, and its chances jeopardized.”

Similarly, the Indians of Peru, Ecuador and Columbia have been familiar with the necessity of preventing pregnancy overloads of the mother. Whiffen |4| in his book “North-West Amazons” states:

“The numbers (of pregnant women) are remarkable in view of the fact that husbands abstain from any intercourse with their wives, not only during pregnancy but also throughout the period of lactation–far more prolonged with them than with Europeans. The result is that two and a half years between each child is the minimum difference of age, and in the majority of cases it is even greater.”

It may also be important to note that the Amazon Indians have been conscious of the fact that these matters are related to the nutrition of both parents. Whiffen states that:

“These Indians share the belief of many peoples of the lower cultures that the food eaten by the parents–to some degree of both parents–will have a definite influence upon the birth, appearance, or character of the child.”

This problem of the consciousness among primitives of the need for spacing children has been emphasized by George Brown |5| in his studies among Melanesians and Polynesians in which he reports relative to the natives on one of the Solomon Islands as follows:

“After the birth of a child the husband was not supposed to cohabit with his wife until the child could walk. If a child was weak or sickly, the people would say, speaking of the parents, “Ah, well, they have only themselves to blame.”

We recommend these books, via our Amazon affiliation, for natural family planning or fertility awareness: The Garden of Fertility and Honoring our Cycles.

References

1. MURPHY, D. P. Reproductive efficiency and malformed children. Surg. Gynec. and Obst., 62:585, 1936.
2. MURPHY, D. P. The duplication of congenital malformations in brothers and sisters and among other relatives. Surg. Gynec. and Obst., 63:443, 1936.
3. BADEN, G. T. Among the Ibos of Nigeria. Phila., Lippincott, 1921.
4. WIFFEN, T. North-West Amazons. N. Y., Duffield, 1915.
5. BROWN, G. Melanesians and Polynesians. London, Macmillan, 1910.

Eskimo woman holding her baby

Read more from Dr. Price on our facebook posts here and here. We also highly recommend the book Nutrition and Physical Degeneration by Dr. Weston price.

Copyright

These photos are reproduced by permission by the Price-Pottenger Nutrition Foundation who holds the copyright. Please do not use the photo without their express written consent. You are welcome to simply share this post.

What are your thoughts on breastfeeding while pregnant?

Disclosure
Please note that we serve as an affiliate for Amazon, in addition to allied organizations and individuals whose products and/or serves we recommend. In some cases, we receive referral bonuses or commissions for our promotional efforts. This enables us to sustain our educational efforts.

34 Comments

Filed under Babies, Dr. Price's Research, Facebook Archives, Nourishing Our Children

34 responses to “Double Duty: Breastfeeding While Pregnant?

  1. Amanda

    I am currently nursing both my 4 month old and my 2 1/2 year old. I couldn’t bear the thought of weaning him, and throughout my pregnancy he only nursed a couple of times per day. Since my daughter was born, he has taken up nursing again, and to the extreme. He nurses more than she does. I find myself wishing I had either weaned him before I got pregnant, or waiting longer between babies. I know it’s not based on nutrition, but that has been my experience. I think those cultures were on to something.

  2. Ruth

    I am nursing my 2 yr old and am 7 weeks pregnant. He only nurses a couple times a day, but he’s not ready to quit. I nursed my other 2 while pregnant with the next & the sickliest child I have is my firstborn, who didn’t have any baby nursing while pregnant with him. So I find this very interesting. I think there is nothing wrong with it as long as you are otherwise healthy. I personally would hate to wean my child, end up miscarrying for other reasons, & then feel guilty that I weaned my child too soon. Make sense? Also, my other 2 kids weaned when I was 8-9 months pregnant & everything worked out fine.

  3. Tamara Bell

    I nursed my 2 yr old daughter all the way through my 2nd pregnancy…when my son Daniel came along, she was only down to 5 minutes at bedtime..then weaned completely. Then, I nursed my son, until I was 7 months pregnant with his brother. Daniel was not even 2 yet, but by the time I was 7 months along, I had this feeling of complete disgust when Daniel would nurse. he cried alot, and was not ready to wean, but I was.
    I believe (along with the World Health Association) that nursing until 2 is ideal. This nursing kept my cycles away for at least a year each time, and the spacing of my children is perfect to me. Although, I know of other women who get their cycles back right away..hmmm… Milk produces on a supply & demand process normally, and I don’t feel any of my unborn children were cheated out of anything. My son was 8 lbs., and then the next son was 9 lbs…..3 years later, I had my 4th son without having to nurse during that pregnancy..I have to admit, it was a relief! ..I trust my own body so much that I feel I did what was right for me. Each women needs to be attuned to their own body & their own nutrition & act accordingly for the health of Mom & Baby.

    • With all due respect, I have to wonder how can we ignore the traditional wisdom that produces the kind of radiant health Dr. Price documented? I like what Ann Marie Michaels of Cheeseslave wrote https://www.facebook.com/nourishingourchildren/posts/126927884079651:

      “I totally agree with Sally Fallon Morell. We are so cut off from the wisdom of our ancestors. Read the link Tiffany posted above from Rami Nagel. The Ibos in Nigeria considered it “a disgrace and an abomination” to have babies too close together. ALL traditional cultures spaced their babies.

      I was born just 13 months after my older sister. My mom nursed her while I was in utero. She ate grass-fed ice cream daily to improve her milk. I ended up with a wide face, high cheekbones, and straight teeth. And my older sister? She had to get braces. She’s always been jealous of me and it created a very strained and difficult relationship for most of our lives (however, thankfully we are close now).

      If you breastfeed during your pregnancy, you are doing a disservice to your child. The baby will get all the nutrients and your milk will be depleted. Sure you can still breastfeed if you like, but I think you should limit and think about weaning.

      Instead of focusing on breastfeeding your child, if you end up pregnant early, you should feed the older child solids — cod liver oil, egg yolks, liver and other nutrient-dense foods. … ”

      When we produce children who grow into adults that look like this https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10150101399165172 by having babies the way we do now — then I’ll be convinced that we know better.

  4. Ella

    So, I fully understand the point you’re making about breastfeeding while pregnant not being a healthy choice for the babies, and that 3+ yrs. of spacing between children is ideal. But what I’d like to see addressed is the issue of what the best choice is for mothers who ARE pregnant while having a young baby that’s still nursing. Because even if we know what the ideal is, babies still HAPPEN! I became pregnant with my 2nd child when my first was only 5 months old. I was breastfeeding full-time. I chose to continue to nurse her until 12 months old. At that time, I didn’t know about the homemade formula options, and I didn’t like to idea of regular formula for her, so I chose to eat the best diet I could, as well as take high-quality vitamin/mineral supplements. Interestingly, my 2nd baby is the one with the widest face and highest cheekbones (???); however my firstborn has the best immune system. Both my children (now ages 3 and 4) seem quite healthy. If I was still nursing a 2 year old and became pregnant, I wouldn’t mind weaning. But I have a problem weaning a 5-month old! I’d like to hear some practical solutions for those situations of close pregnancies (because sometimes they happen even when we plan otherwise)!

    • Amen to that. I have been reading and scanning the comments for just that, because it seems that the general consensus seems to be to simply shame women who are already pregnant… it happens. even with careful planning. If that’s really the case, I really do not like this blog anymore.

  5. Nicole

    I nursed both of my girls until they were about a year. I would have loved to have gone longer but at bout 8 months my milk cycle returns and my milk starts tapering off. I found out I was pregnant in the days before their first birthday’s. After I get pregnant my milk production is pretty much shot. I wouldn’t mind more space between my kids but we don’t believe in birth control and despite my best efforts my milk production doesn’t cooperate. I am extremely thankful for our goats and the raw goats milk we have given (and continue to give) our kids.

  6. I didn’t breast feed while pregnant but my babies aren’t spaced out. My second was born 11 months after my first, my third 24 months after the second, the forth 26 months after the third and the fifth 28 months after the forth. So that was 5 babies in 8 years 7 months. Other than my first, who was only breast fed for 2 months and had to deal with my horrible nutrition, they are all brilliant and have perfectly formed pallets. I do believe the body needs to mentally have break from childbearing/rearing and having them close together can take it’s toll on a mom. I think it makes sense that you should wean instead of breastfeed and grow a baby. I think our bodies do try to tell us this by creating a natural birth control while breastfeeding.

  7. Christie

    There is a difference between a child who nurses twice a day and a child who is 100% dependent on the mothers milk. There is a difference in the amount of stress each puts on a mother’s body. That is why many women, including myself, do not ovulate naturally until the nursing baby is more independent of his/her mothers milk. For me that was around 17-18 months. I would not recommend trying to be pregnant while having a 4-6 month old that is 100% dependent on your milk. However I see nothing wrong with having a older toddler nurse once or twice a day while expecting. I have done this myself now three times and each time the toddler weaned themselves before the baby was born.

    Ancient cultures had much wisdom, but we should take the good and leave the bad behind. Is it good to have some space between pregnancies, yes. Should we condemn those who haven’t, no, we should give the very best advice possible in sometimes difficult situations.

    • I have 6 children, I never ovulated before my children turned 3 years old- at that point I would ovulate (before getting my first PP cycle back) and get pregnant. I read Dr. Prices work when I was 17 and for my last 4 followed sound nutrition (various diets from paleo to primal , WAP and so on). My children weaned during my pregnancies but of course they were also older. If you study the diets of hunter/gatherers versus grain based societies, well you find the hunter/gatherers go longer between birth (longer infertility due to nursing/lactational ammenorhea) than those of grain based societies. The hunter/gatherer’s births were spaced 44 months apart compared to the grain based one’s at 24 months if I remember correctly.

  8. I wonder about the nutrient content of the breast milk that is going to a child older than 1 or so who is eating solid foods. The medical model told me that after 6-8 months there is a nutritional shift/decrease in breast milk (another reason they recommend delaying solids until 6 months, which I think is newly up for debate again with new research that has found no effect on allergy prevention). My toddler still nurses at 2+ yo about 2-3 times a day at nap and bedtime or in the middle of the night. She is nursing primarily for comfort. I never gave her a pacifier/bottle and I have become it! She is hungry after waking from her one hour nap which she never was as a younger child thanks to the higher nutrient content of early breast milk. She will sometimes nurse for a couple minutes before waking in the morning and is also ready for breakfast almost right away. I don’t debate that lactating during a pregnancy puts a extra nutrient demand on the mother and baby but I wonder if it truly is significant. Or if it could be “made up for” by nutrient loading.

    The other issue is quantity. I am never engorged anymore, nor do I leak, nor does the milk spray out when hand expressed or any of the other uncomfortable necessities of breastfeeding. ;) I think the amount of milk I am producing is negligible. Perhaps other mom’s nursing toddlers have different experiences and still have a high quantity of milk?

    Lastly, perhaps I missed it but I didn’t notice anything in the quotations posted from Price about not breastfeeding during pregnancy specifically but rather focused on time elapsed between pregnancies and abstinence in some cases for prevention.

    Nursing a toddler, I think, has more to do with comfort and connection, since they can clearly physically survive on their own now and have been able to for months (or years). Many of us who nurse our toddlers are doing so because we are following their lead and trusting their development to tell us when it is, at this point, emotionally appropriate to stop this intimate, supportive practice. (I, for one, would happily stop nursing!). Just like we have with pretty much every other issue (potty training, sleeping through the night, introducing solids etc.). I would be saddened if this discussion discouraged a mother from nursing her toddler through her pregnancy if she felt that was best for her child for fear that it would have a detrimental effect on the fetus.

    I wonder if there is any research done on this topic?

    • Thank you for what I experienced as your thoughtful comments, Monica. I approached Dr. Thomas Cowan, M.D. yesterday in light of your request for research. http://fourfoldhealing.com/

      He explained, “I have no studies on this that I know of but it only makes sense to me to finish breastfeeding, take a break then move on to the next pregnancy Best, TC”

      From what I copied from Nutrition and Physical Degeneration about the North-West Amazons as quoted above:

      “The numbers (of pregnant women) are remarkable in view of the fact that husbands abstain from any intercourse with their wives, not only during pregnancy but also throughout the period of lactation – far more prolonged with them than with Europeans. The result is that two and a half years between each child is the minimum difference of age, and in the majority of cases it is even greater.”

      They waited until lactation was over before intercourse.

      Your perspective about nursing a toddler more for comfort and support makes a lot of sense to me and perhaps if it is very axillary, it isn’t detrimental yet – I would consider what Tom Gibson wrote below:

      http://nourishingourchildren.wordpress.com/2012/02/02/double-duty-breastfeeding-while-pregnant/#comment-407

      “I am reading “Deep Nutrition” by Catherine Shanahan MD who devotes a whole chapter to this subject. She also includes a description of what she calls “second child syndrome” that souinds like extracts from Pottenger’s Cats. Some traditional cultures always separated the marriage bed for up to four years to make sure they always grew healthy children by allowing the mother’s nutritional stores time to recharge. She does explain that sometimes it is the second child that comes out better because of a phenomenon where in some cases the uterus isn’t optimized to give birth for the first child but gives compelling evidence that not waiting to have as complete a nutritional package as possible will have visible affects on subsequent children that are rushed into the world. A long list of possible health problems may follow. Why would anyone want to risk that for their children?”

  9. We waited until our first was over 2.5 years old to get pregnant with our second (who is now 2 months). Oliver was still nursing at bedtime and naptime when I became pregnant, but before my first trimester was over I had become so physically repulsed and irritated by him nursing that we had to stop. He wasn’t nursing for nourishment of course by that point but I was worried his immune defenses would suffer by weaning (happily, that was not the case!). I have heard other women say they had a similar experience and can only assume this revulsion is nature’s way of getting a mother to stop nursing an older child.

    I do think our tendency to have children later in life is making it much more difficult to space them out appropriately. I know that is absolutely the best way though–for there to be at least 3 years between children. However, it is becoming increasingly difficult in our society to be financially stable enough to have children early. I was one of the few to begin early, and I feel very lucky to be young and already have two beautiful children. We chose the route of children first–> financial stability and careers second, and it is working out well. But there are so many reasons this is not feasible for everyone. In traditional societies childbearing was begun quite early which did make it easier to space the children out properly. I look forward to the day when social supports and widespread knowledge are available to enable earlier, responsible, and properly-nourished childbearing!

  10. Keturah

    Why would it be sad for a mother to stop nursing a toddler to help the next baby? I think it’s a good thing.

    I have an almost 2 yr old toddler and understand all the physical and emotional benefits of nursing when she’s upset or sad or hurt. It’s a wonderful thing. But I am waiting to get pregnant until we’re through nursing. I am focused on her until I feel comfortable weaning us, then I can focus my physical energy on building up for the next pregnancy. I think the key really is spacing children.

    If you get pregnant really early, and can’t wean your baby, then obviously just do your best and make do with loading up on nutrition and crossing your fingers for the best, because making the best of what life hands you is very different than choosing to have kids close together because it’s suddenly important to you.

  11. I am reading “Deep Nutrition” by Catherine Shanahan MD who devotes a whole chapter to this subject. She also includes a description of what she calls “second child syndrome” that souinds like extracts from Pottenger’s Cats. Some traditional cultures always separated the marriage bed for up to four years to make sure they always grew healthy children by allowing the mother’s nutritional stores time to recharge. She does explain that sometimes it is the second child that comes out better because of a phenomenon where in some cases the uterus isn’t optimized to give birth for the first child but gives compelling evidence that not waiting to have as complete a nutritional package as possible will have visible affects on subsequent children that are rushed into the world. A long list of possible health problems may follow. Why would anyone want to risk that for their children?

  12. Faith

    Someone else said it but it requires repeating, there is a huge difference in a child totally dependent on breast milk and one just nursing for comfort. Before I got pregnant with #2, my daughter was down to just before bed. I pumped at work and she had bottles when I wasn’t there. I managed to pump enough to keep her in “mommy milk” for quite some time after my milk dried up from the pregnancy. I also thought that she would wean herself shortly there after. So far she hasn’t (I’m about 8.5months now) but then again less than five minutes at night before bed is all she’s doing now and there is nothing there for her. Nursing is a wonderful way for us to reconnect after a long day apart. I wonder if you compare the society in Price’s books how much time they spent apart from their children per day. Just a thought.

    • Interesting point, Faith about the time spent apart from their children – although there are mothers who have joined this discussion on Facebook who are at home with their children and quite passionate about the notion of breastfeeding while pregnant irregardless of time spent apart.

  13. mnmom

    I am the mother of 7 and have been nursing since my oldest was born almost 13 years ago. I am always either nursing 2 children or pregnant while nursing 1 child. My children are all healthy and I have never miscarried. It actually seems like my younger kids are healthier than my older ones. I believe this is because my diet is continually improving. Drink a lot of water and eat whole foods…I would not be concerned at all about nursing while pregnant

  14. When I raised this topic on Facebook back in October 2011, it was controversial, so I am not surprised that it would be controversial now however, this time some who responded to this Word Press post on the Facebook announcement https://www.facebook.com/nourishingourchildren/posts/178929615545374 expressed such a level of upset that they decided to leave the fold of Nourishing Our Children and said they had “had it” with the Weston A. Price Foundation. It happened when I posted about the dangers of fluoride as well.

    As a point of clarification, we are not the Weston A. Price Foundation – we are by most accounts, considered a relatively small educational initiative of the San Francisco Chapter of the Weston A. Price Foundation. We are mainly volunteer run.

    In the face of a response that left me feeling like I wanted to duck for cover, I wrote …

    I would love to cultivate in our community a sense that each of us can share what we think without fear of personal attack. There are others who have a difference of opinion than yours who have shared with me that they are afraid to enter the fold of this conversation because they aren’t eager to get the kind of responses they see being put forth.

    If the approach of the Weston A. Price Foundation, Sally Fallon Morell, Nourishing Our Children or me personally, simply doesn’t land well with you, I can hear that and would at at peace with that. If there is a difference of opinion on this particular issue, I can hear that and would be at peace with that as well. I believe it is possible to peacefully agree to simply disagree.

    Sally Fallon Morell and I don’t consistently share the same values, approaches or perspectives but, we can serve the community together nonetheless.

    I wrote this previously https://www.facebook.com/nourishingourchildren/posts/10150418241830172: I think it is safe to say that within our community we will have differences of opinion. Sally Fallon Morell has differences of opinion with some of the most passionate Weston A. Price Foundation supporters and sponsors. For example, Sally places chocolate firmly in the “avoid” category however, Vital Choice sells chocolate. Radiant Life distributes krill oil, which the Weston A. Price Foundation doesn’t recommend.

    Dr. Mercola and the Foundation both advocate passionately for raw milk, yet they differ on issues such as protein powders, supplements and krill oil. Despite these differences, Dr. Mercola was the keynote speaker at the last Wise Traditions conference.

    Dr. Thomas Cowan and Sally have a different perspective on how much Vitamin A we need, and how much cod liver oil to consume, however they are co-authors, presenters and collaborators.

    Somehow, we continue to remain a community.

    Likely we will continue to have differences of opinion based on different values and different experiences that form our perspectives. While I tend to prefer the moments when we are collectively united around the value of traditionally prepared “real” food, I understand that some of the recommendations the Weston A. Price Foundation, Sally Fallon Morell, or we, by extension, put forth does not resonate with everyone.

    My hope is that we’ll find a way to stay connected nonetheless.

  15. Pingback: Are Traditional Food and Tandem Nursing Compatible? « The Mommypotamus

  16. Pingback: Podcast March 5, 2013 | Nourishing Our Children

  17. I think it depends on how old the older child is. If the “older” child is less than a year old, then breastfeeding is what she needs – and you do her a disservice by switching to formula. On the other hand, if the older child is two – you can wean without guilt. And if she’s between one and two? I guess it depends where in between . . .

    But if breastfeeding isn’t dangerous to the unborn child, and the older child needs the breastmilk (and yes, babies need breastmilk even if formula can be bought), then why stop nursing?

    For the record: I think any spacing less than 18 months is irresponsible. Especially if it happens a second time.

  18. Whats up very cool web site!! Guy .. Excellent .. Superb
    .. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds additionally?

    I’m satisfied to seek out numerous helpful information here within the publish, we’d like develop more strategies on this regard, thank you for sharing.

    . . . . .

  19. I’ve had a conviction in my heart for over a year that I do not want to try for the next baby until the first baby was three years old.

    The Apocryphal book 2 Maccabees says that the prophet Samuel from the Bible was not weaned until age three (II Maccabees 7:27). Similarly, the Talmud states that a nursing mother should use a (absorbent [sponge]) contraceptive, “lest she become pregnant and prematurely wean the child so that it dies.” (Jeb. 12b). Also, It is very illogical how people can say today, that breastfeeding while pregnant is safe as long as you are not prone to miscarrying or preterm labour. Either it is safe or it is not.

    I am so grieved now though. My first baby is almost 11 months old and I’ve discovered I’m six weeks pregnant. Of course I am happy another life is inside me but I am feeling bittersweet. Many of the people around me pressured me into having another baby—including my husband (he wants four children), sister, mother and mother-in-law. I’m 36 years old now and “the clock was ticking”. But ultimately, it’s my fault for not standing my ground in spite of their enthusiastic ignorance.

    So now, should I now wean cold turkey? I have cut back from six to two feeds a day, over one week, but I feel I must sever the nursing tie. Also would you please recommend some pages with information about how I can best feed my 11 month old. We have some raw goat’s milk but I feel she needs more.

    Thank you in advance, and thank you for this wonderful site.

  20. Hi there to every body, it’s my first pay a visit of this webpage; this weblog includes amazing and truly good data in support of readers.

  21. I am currently 15 weeks pregnant and nursing my 9 month old. But my milk supply is basically gone. I’ve been trying to drink a lot of water and raspberry tea, I take Funugreek tablets 3-4 times a day, and I pump whenever I can…but I’m still not producing enough for my nursing baby! I’ve been doing this for over 2 weeks now and last night, 4 hours after my daughter last nursed, I pumped for 15 min and only got 1/4 oz. Is there anything else I can try??

  22. If you work well to Loose weight with ultimate Garcinia, the body loses its weight significantly.
    Lately, the 70 % HCA Garcina Cambogia capsules have been launched to the marketplace.

  23. Monica

    I often wonder why no one else mentions the traditional cultures that tandem nursed, as Mommypotamus does here:
    http://www.mommypotamus.com/are-traditional-food-and-tandem-nursing-compatible/

    In addition, I don’t understand Cheeseslave’s logic with her and her sister. She’s basing the braces/glasses issue entirely on her inutero nutrition. Why then would her sister not have had good nutrition inutero? We see success stories of palates widening, better health, etc. just by changing diet when children are already born/older. Raine has mentioned this herself with her son’s teeth straightening. I don’t think it’s reasonable to say that Cheeseslave’s sister had braces only because the mother was pregnant at 13mo postpartum.

Leave a Comment

